Working groups

Working Group 2 Novel components

Logo Nanotechnologie

Novel components

REM-image of a metal cluster between electrode tips.
(Photograph: TU Chemnitz)


The continuing trend towards miniaturization of integrated circuits has given rise to increasing efforts to supplement and gradually replace conventional CMOS-technologies by nano-technologies and nano-electronics in near future. The latter include magneto-electronics, and single-electron devices, nano-cluster storage elements, and resonant tunneling elements, among others.

Magnetoelectronics is based on the concept of replacing semiconductor magnetic field sensors (Hall sensors) in multi-layer systems by Giant Magneto Resistance (GMR) sensors, and CMOS memories by persistent magnetic memories (M-RAMS). For this purpose it is necessary to deposit stacks of extremely thin metallic and insulating films of about 1nm thickness with well defined interfaces.

There is a new generation of novel components based on the transfer of individual electrons in nano-scale structures. Work centers on memory elements based on the transfer of individual electrons between metal electrodes and on the memory effect of semiconductor nano-clusters in SiO² films.

Head of the working group:

Prof. Dr. Christian Radehaus

Technische Universität Chemnitz
Zentrum für Mikrotechnologien
Reichenhainer Straße 70, 09126 Chemnitz
Phone 0371 / 531 30 86
Fax 0371 / 531 30 04




©  Nano-CC-UFF 2010 Contact:
Office of Center of Competence "Ultrathin Functional Films"
at Fraunhofer IWS Dresden
Dr. Ralf Jäckel
Phone +49 (0) 351 / 83391 - 3444, Fax +49 (0) 351 / 83391 - 3300